A love story

I’m feeling, happy, excited and anxious, all at the same time. This is the longest Thailand and I have been apart since I breathed it’s warm air for the first time almost 6 years ago. When I’ll land in Bangkok in February 2012 it’s been about 1 year and 11 months. I know it is going to be an amazing reunion. Maybe it doesn’t sound like too long of a separation, but let me explain myself; since February 2006 I’ve made three longer and two shorter trips there and to its neighbouring countries. I have spent over a year in only Thailand and 1,5 years in South East Asia. In 2009 I did two trips to Thailand. One shorter, and one longer. So, yes….a two year separation from a country I love so dearly, is a long time.

Every trip has been different and my last was clearly the best one, but also the worst. It was my first long trip on my own and I grew and learned so much about myself and the world we live in. That’s why it’s so exciting that I am doing something else this trip. That I’m going to volunteer for Isara, and that I am going to try to stay long term. I am about to full fill two major dreams in my life. I always wanted to volunteer, but never got around to it, and I’ve dreamt of moving there for years. I feel so at home in Thailand. There’s no place in the world where I feel more at peace. And no, it’s not just the holiday vibe, feeling, spirit making me feel like that. Trust me, I’ve had my share of difficulties in Thailand, but it doesn’t matter, Thailand is my biggest love. I wouldn’t be fair to myself if I didn’t try this love out, to see if it’s ever lasting.

 

 

This entry was posted in Malin as a volunteer, Non profit charity, Personal, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

