We’re talking trash

If you stumbled on to my blog before you might know that I am going to be  an Isara volunteer in February, for a month, in Nong Khai, Thailand. Apart from running a learning centre, where Thai people can  learn English for free the Isara Foundation is also working on several other projects, like a helmet campaign and environmental projects. A few days ago Isara opened a Recycling Centre in Nong Khai. I sent a message to  Kirk Gillock, the founder of Isara, and asked him if he could share  some information with me about how the idea for the centre was born and what their expectations for the centre are.

This summer Kirk Gillock sailed down the Mekong River on a 10 meter plastic bottle boat, which is part of  Isara’s “Think before you throw”  project.  The project aims to raise environmental awareness and to help educate people along the Mekong River about the dangers of polluting the environment. It was while constructing the boat last year that Kirk Gillock came up with the idea of an Isara Recycling Centre in Nong Khai.

Kirk tells me in an email, that while  collecting thousands of used plastic bottles from the local shops and homes in Nong Khai Thailand, where the Isara Foundation is based, he thought that a Recycling Centre would be a good way for Isara to raise some much needed charity funds. His thought was to, instead of asking people for money to fund Isara’s charity projects, they could ask for the people to donate their trash.

Several months later, after finishing constructing the boat and after  Kirk sailed it down the Mekong River, he and his Isara volunteers started working on the Recycling Centre. Finding a place to build the centre turned out not to be to difficult as one of Isara’s local sponsors loaned the foundation some of their land. The project was as it’s starting point and the construction of a 16 x 8 meter shack took place, where Isara staff and volunteers can separate and store the various recyclables the foundation receives.

The centre opened on the 17th of October and Kirk tells me that they are now in the process of advertising the centre and letting locals now that they can support Isara’s charity projects by giving Isara their old plastic bottles, cardboard boxes and cans. Just as the plastic bottle boat project, the work with the Recycling centre has received a very positive response and Kirk ends his email by telling me that they hope, and are quite confident that the Recycling Center will eventually, help sustain the foundation’s other projects, like the Isara Learning Centre, scholarships, the free volunteer program and the foundations ongoing and great helmet campaign.

I must say that I am very impressed with this small non-profit charity foundation. With very small tools they manage a lot. When it is time for me to volunteer with Isara I will feed you with more information about this amazing foundation it seems to be. Stay tuned.

Visit www.isara.org  and by making it your homepage you will make a difference. I explain how:

Websites make money from advertising and the more visitors, the more income from advertising. Unlike most websites Isara uses these incomes to fund it’s projects. Change your homepage to www.isara.org and you’re making the world a better place.

This entry was posted in Environment, Isara, Malin as a volunteer, Non profit charity, Sustainable development, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We’re talking trash

  1. Kathy Gillock says:

    Thank you Malin for sharing Isara’s charity in your blog. The more people we reach the more productive Isara can be.
    I know the Isara Recycling Centre idea of turning trash into charity projects will be successful. Isara is similar to the story book tale of “The Little Engine That Could”, a children’s storybook I read many times to my children. There’s a line in the book as the little train is trying to get to the other side of the mountain to help another larger train, it reads ” I think I can, I think I can, I think I can………and it does reach the other side of the mountain. 🙂 I recall this storybook almost every time Isara creates a new and exciting project to help those in need and I can just imagine for a moment Kirk saying……..I think I can, I think I can, I think I can……..and he always does.
    Isara Foundation USA ~ Kathy

  2. Pingback: Captain Kirk’s trip down the Mekong River |

Leave a comment

