There is nothing more dreadful than the habit of doubt

Today there are exactly 16 weeks until my next trip to Thailand and to my journey of volunteering with Isara starts. I am very excited about it, as always, but at the same time I feel a bit nervous and I am in some ways starting to doubt my ability to teach. I don’t doubt my English skills. I know my English is very good. My grammar is good, my pronunciation and vocal skills are very good and so on.

To my advantage I have that I am a non-native with a very neutral accent and that I have learnt a second a third and a fourth language. I am fluent in three languages and learnt one of them (Spanish) as an adult and I know German on a basic level. This gives me better awareness of the difficulties and problems that students might face while learning a second language.

But will I be a good teacher? Do I possess the ability to get a whole class of students to listen to me and find the lessons interesting, challenging and funny? Will I be able to guide a whole class? My doubts arise from those thoughts.

I am trying to learn some Thai. I know it is not necessary for the teaching. When I studied Spanish in Málaga in Southern Spain the teachers did not speak a word of English and we were not even allowed to speak English in class and we learned the language very fast. Either way I hope that I will be able to combine my language skills with being a open minded, humble and keen teacher.

This entry was posted in Isara, Malin as a volunteer, Non profit charity, Personal, Thailand, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There is nothing more dreadful than the habit of doubt

  1. Alex Spencer says:

    You will be awesome, don’t worry 🙂

  2. Kathy Gillock says:

    Malin, you will be an excellent teacher, please don’t worry. I can tell you care about the students. Everyone working at the Isara Learning Center (ILC) is there always ready to help you and answer any questions you may have while you’re volunteering. Please don’t worry and just have fun and enjoy your stay with Isara. 🙂

    • Thanks Kathy for your comment. You are always so kind. It is nice to hear some supporting words 🙂 Anyhow…I still have 4 months left to worry or not worry about the teaching.

Leave a comment

