Me – A volunteer to be

I always wanted to volunteer in something I was passionate about but I have never got around to it. I would be lying if I said I have been to busy, which seem to be an excuse many people use. I mean, I have done several long trips to South East Asia and I have had plenty of free time. So why have I not full filled this dream of mine? I don´t really know what is the most righteous excuse or reason for not having done it yet.  Maybe I have been to selfish or maybe I have been scared. Or maybe it was not the right time for me.

The last year I have almost driven myself crazy trying to figure out what it is I really want to do in life. I have my bachelor in Social Science, I have travelled a lot, I speak three languages fluently and I have lived abroad for the last three years. That is more than most people have done and something many people dream about doing but never do. But I have not felt satisfied. I have always been thinking about what I should do, what society, family and friends expect of me and that have somehow blocked my way. Quite often I get comments about not living the life which is expected of a woman my age, in her early 30s. At my age you should have a house, a husband and kids, and maybe a dog and a cat. Those things have added stress to my life the last years.

I have now decided that I have to stop listening and looking at what everybody else does. I want to help. I always wanted. And therefore I am going to Nong Khai in Thailand in the beginning of February 2012 to volunteer with Isara.

Many times throughout the years I have been on google searching for interesting organisations to volunteer for. Most of them charge their volunteers ridiculous fees. Many of those organisations function as businesses. That is not what charity should be about. I remembered a organisation in north east Thailand a friend of a friend had volunteered for but I could not remember the name of the organisation. It was an organisation charging a very low amount of money, and the guy had been telling me very good things about it. So i googled “free volunteering” and found a webpage with a few links to organisations around the world who do not charge. Who are fully non profit organisations. I clicked on Asia and on Thailand and that is how I found Isara. I joined their community and I read blogs, wall posts, forum discussions and got such a warm welcome from some of the other members. I was amazed and decided to apply. I sent an online application, a couple of months to early, but got accepted anyway as I was active on the webpage and as I had already bought a ticket to Thailand with arrival 1St of February.

I am going to write more about Isara as an organisation in a future post.

As this is the first blog in English there might be some grammar and spelling mistakes. Hopefully that won’t make my blog less interesting and I hope I will manage to get some regular readers.

This entry was posted in Malin as a volunteer. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Me – A volunteer to be

  1. Kathy Gillock says:

    I loved reading your blog and also learning how your discovered Isara. Glad you found us and thank you for wanting to help. Can’t wait to read more on your blog. 🙂

  2. meandelvis says:

    I am so looking forward to read every single post in this blog! 🙂

    This is it Malin, I know it! Good thing!!

    x

Leave a comment

